Bengeo Gravel Extraction

Clubs and societies, neighbourhood and social issues
Steve
Project Leader
Bengeo Gravel Extraction

Post by Steve » Wed 06 Apr, 2016 2:41 pm

A planning application has been submitted to the County Council to extract gravel from an area adjacent to Rickney's Quarry, north of Bengeo.

There's a lot of opposition to this and a Facebook Group has been started to oppose the plans, with the town council calling it "completely inappropriate".

http://www.hertfordshiremercury.co.uk/O ... story.html

https://www.facebook.com/groups/992628417479697

Darcy Sarto

Re: Bengeo Gravel Extraction

Post by Darcy Sarto » Fri 08 Apr, 2016 6:05 pm

As a Bengeo resident I have sight of a letter encouraging me object in the strongest terms.

Now don't misunderstand me - I am against the development and will likely be objecting but those wishing to object must base their objections in the factual world and not the realms of unsubstantiated rumour and just plain inaccuracy.

Under a heading "How will this affect us" the letter kicks off with:

"A drop in your house price (estimated at a minumum of £50-100,000 each) as we turn into a semi industrial area thus spoiling the natural landscape"

This must be conjecture at best and there is nothing natural about a field of oil seed rape (even if it is marginally prettier than a quarry)! Indeed "nature" is making a comeback on the other side of Vicarage Lane thanks to Hertfordshire and Middlesex Wildlife Trust and (oh yes) Lafarge - on Waterford Heath which is, of course, a reclaimed sand and gravel extraction site.

If the quarry cannot be prevented (and I hope it can) what will really be an issue is what they do with the hole in fifteen years time. If it is to be returned to "nature" like parts of Waterford Heath then all well and good but holes in the ground that large are excellent for landfill which would concern me more than the quarry....